Academic Calendar 2020-2021

 

 

Spring 2021

JANUARY

4-8

Mon.—Fri.

Online Advising and Registration 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

9

Saturday

Online Registration & Advising –9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

11

Monday

First day of classes

18

Monday

Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday - College  closed - No classes

19

Tuesday

Last day to add a class without instructor approval

25

Monday

Last day to drop a course, change from audit to credit, and receive tuition refund

FEBRUARY

15

Monday

Deadline to Apply for Selective Admission Health Programs (PTA, and DH)

MARCH

5

Friday

College-Wide In-Service - College closed – No classes

12

Friday

Last day to withdraw from class and receive a “W” for courses that start January 11th and end April 27th (consult course syllabus if taking a class with an alternate schedule.)

12

Friday

RN Selective Admission Deadline (by 5 p.m.)

15-19

Mon. – Fri.

Faculty/student spring break – No classes

22

Monday

Registration for Summer Semester begins

APRIL

1

Thursday

Registration for Fall Semester begins

MAY

3

Monday

Last day of classes

4 – 10

Tuesday—

Monday

Final exams for day and night classes begin

11

Tuesday

Grades due by 9:00 am

11-14

Tuesday—

Fridays

In-Service  Days

14

Friday

Honor’s Convocation

15

Saturday

Health Professions Curricula Pinning Ceremonies and Commencement

 All grades are due in the Registrar's Office by Tuesday, May 11th, by 9:00 am

Summary Information

Fall Semester 2020 - Spring Semester 2021

VCCS Policy 5.7:  Academic Calendar (C)

                          The academic calendar for colleges within the VCCS may be determined by the colleges within the following guidelines:

The contract year for faculty extends from August 16 through May 15.

There shall be a minimum of 75 days of instruction in each semester for a total minimum of 150 days of instruction for the academic year.

There shall be approximately 10 days of instructional evaluation (examinations, etc.) in the academic year.

There shall be approximately 20 days of registration and faculty in-service days in the academic year.

An academic calendar year shall consist of 180 working days.

Summary for Fall Semester 2020 - WCC Calendar

 

DAYS

DATES

In-service

5

November 23-25, December 22-23

Registration

5

August 17-21

Examination days

5

December 15-21

Instructional  days

75

 

total work days

90

 

Summary for Spring Semester 2021 - WCC Calendar

 

DAYS

DATES

In-service

5

March 5, May 11-14

Registration

5

January 4-8

Examination days

5

May 4-10

Instructional  days

75

 

total workdays

90

 

TOTAL WORK DAYS

180

 

Comparison of WCC Calendar to VCCS Policy

Class instruction: WCC - 150, VCCS Policy - Minimum of 150 (75 each semester)
Examinations: WCC - 10, VCCS Policy -  Approximately 10
Registration and In-Service: WCC - 20, VCCS Policy - Approximately 20
Total: WCC - 180 working days, VCCS Policy - 180 working days

 

Summer 2021

Early Registration for Summer Semester Begins at WCC Campus

Monday, March 22

Early Registration for Fall Semester Begins at WCC Campus

Friday, April 2

Last Day for Pre-Registered Students to Pay Tuition for Summer Semester

Monday,  May 10

Memorial Day Holiday (College Closed)

Monday, May 31

Juneteenth Holiday (College Closed)—pending legislative approval

Friday, June 18

Independence Day Holiday (College Closed)

Monday, July 5

Graduation application deadline for summer graduates who have not previously applied

Tuesday, July 6

10-week Session (May 24 - August 4)

Classes Begin

Monday, May 24

Last Day to Add Classes

Friday, May 28

Memorial Day Holiday (College Closed)

Monday, May 31

Last Day to Drop Classes and Receive a Refund

Wednesday, June 9

Juneteenth Holiday (College Closed)—pending legislative approval

Friday, June 18

Independence Day Holiday (College Closed)                         

Monday, July 5

Last Day to Withdraw and Receive a “W”

Tuesday, July 6

Classes End

Wednesday, August 4

Final Exams (NOTE: Day and Evening class exams will be given at the last class meeting)

Grades Due from Faculty (3:00 p.m.)

Thursday, August 5

Grades Available Online for Students (5:00 p.m.)

Friday, August 6

1st Five-week Session (May 24 - June 29)

Classes Begin

Monday, May 24

Last Day to Add Classes

Thursday, May 27

Last Day to Drop Classes and Receive a Refund

Friday, May 28

Memorial Day Holiday (College Closed)

Monday, May 31

Last Day to Withdraw and Receive a “W”

Monday, June 14

Juneteenth Holiday (College Closed)—pending legislative approval

Friday, June 18

Classes End

Tuesday, June 29

Final Exams (NOTE: Day and Evening class exams will be given at the last class meeting)

Grades Due from Faculty (noon)

Wednesday, June 30

Grades Available Online for Students (5:00 p.m.)

Wednesday, June 30

2nd Five-week Session (June 30 - August 4)

Classes Begin

Thursday, July 1

Independence Day Holiday (College Closed)

Monday, July 5

Last Day to Add Classes

Tuesday, July 6

Last Day to Drop Classes and Receive a Refund

Wednesday, July 7

Last Day to Withdraw and Receive a “W”

Tuesday, July 20

Classes End

Thursday, August 5

Final Exams (NOTE: Day and Evening class exams will be given at the last class meeting)

Grades Due from Faculty (noon)

Friday, August 6

Grades Available Online for Students (5:00 p.m.)

Friday, August 6

 

Fall Semester 2021

Last Day for Pre-Registered Students to Pay Tuition for Fall Semester.  All tuition must be paid by 5:00 p.m.

Monday, August 2, 2021

In-Service Day, Advising and Extended Registration Hours, & Financial Aid Textbook Charges Open

Monday, August 16, 2021

In-Service Days and Advising & Extended Registration Hours

Tuesday, August 17, 2021, and Wednesday, August 18, 2021

Advising & Extended Registration Hours

Thursday, August 19, 2021 and Friday, August 20, 2021

First day of classes & Advising & Extended Registration Hours

Monday, August 23, 2021

Last Day to add a class without instructor approval

Monday, August 30, 2021

LPN to Bridge Application Deadline

Wednesday, September 1, 2021

Last day to drop a class, change from audit to credit, and receive tuition refund & Last day for Financial Aid Textbook/Tuition Charges

Friday, September 3, 2021

Labor Day--College Closed--No Classes

Monday, September 6, 2021

Registration for Spring Semester Begins; Spring Semester Advisement October 18-29)

Monday, October 18, 2021

Last day to withdraw from class and receive a "W" for classes that start August 23 and end December 14 (consult course syllabus if taking a class with an alternate schedule)

Thursday, October 28, 2021

Application Deadline for Fall Graduation

Monday, November 1, 2021

Election Day--College Closed--No Classes

Tuesday, November 2, 2021

Thanksgiving Holidays--College Closed--No Classes

Thursday, November 25, 2021

Thanksgiving Holidays--College Closed--No Classes

Friday, November 26, 2021

Last day of classes

Friday, December 10, 2021

Final Exams for day and night classes

Monday, December 13, 2021, to

Friday, December 17, 2021

Last Day for Pre-Registered Students to Pay Tuition for Spring Semester.  All tuition must be paid by 5:00 p.m. & Online Spring Application due.  Summer Graduation Applications 2021 due to Admissions Office if planning to participate in the Spring 2021 Graduation Ceremony

 Wednesday, December 15, 2021

In-Service Day, Grades Due by 9:00 a.m.

Monday, December 20, 2021

In-Service Day

Tuesday, December 21, 2021

Holiday--College Closed--No Classes

Friday, December 24, 2021, to Friday, December 31, 2021

Spring 2022 Semester

Advising & Extended Registration Hours

Monday, January 3, 2022, to   Friday, January 7, 2022

In-Service Day & Advising & Extended Registration Hours

Tuesday, January 4, 2022

First Day of Classes

Monday, January 10, 2022

Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday--College Closed--No Classes

Monday, January 17, 2022

Last day to add a class without instructor approval

Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Last day to drop a course, change from audit to credit, and receive a tuition refund

Monday, January 24, 2022

Deadline to Apply for Selective Admission Health Programs (PTA and DH)

Tuesday, February 15, 2022

Last day to withdraw from class and receive a "W" for courses that start January 12 and end May (consult course syllabus if taking a class with an alternate schedule.)

RN Selective Admissions Deadline by 5:00 p.m.

Friday, March 11, 2022

Faculty/Student Spring Break--No Classes

Monday, March 14, 2022, to Friday, March 18, 2022

Registration for Summer Semester begins

Monday, March 21, 2022

Fall Semester Advisement

Monday, March 28, 2022, to Friday, April 8, 2022

Registration for Fall Semester begins

Monday, April 4, 2022

Last Day of Classes

Monday, May 2, 2022

Final Exams for day and night classes

Tuesday, May 3, 2022, to Monday, May 9, 2022

Grades Due by 9:00 a.m. &  In-Service Days

Tuesday, May 10, 2022

In-Service Days

Wednesday, May 11, 2022

In-Service Days

Thursday, May 12, 2022

Honors Convocation

Friday, May 13, 2022

Health Professions Curricula Pinning Ceremonies & Commencement

Saturday, May 14, 2022

 

WCC FacebookWCC TwitterWCC InstagramWCC LinkedInWCC Youtube