Students

Workforce

Community

Alumni & Giving

Faculty/Staff

PDF version

What kind of student are you?

Welcome to WCC!  Whether you are a new student who is just considering attending college or a student who attended WCC or another college or university in the past, WCC is happy to assist you.  The links below will assist you in getting started at WCC:

Tuition & Fees

Tuition rates are established annually by the State Board for Community Colleges and published wtih the semester schedule. Current rates can be verified by contacting the Admissions and Records Office. Payment of tuition enables students to obtain student identification cards and makies them eligible to use the library, bookstore, student lounge, and other facilities of the college. Tuition may be paid by cash, check or credit card.

Fall Semester 2013 and Spring Semester 2014 Tuition Rates (per semester credit hour)

  Tuition Activities
Fee
Technology
Fee
Capital
Fee
Parking
Fee
Facilities
Fee
Total
Virginia Residents $122.50 $1.00 $7.50 $.50 $1.50 $133.00
Out-of-State Residents $299.10 $1.00 $7.50 $18.00 $.50 $1.50 $327.60

Fees

Student Activities Fee

A per-credit-hour student activities fee is required of all full-time and part-time students. The fee supports the student activities program at the college and provides funding for the college newspaper, student government, intramurals, student clubs, and certain cultural and social events held on campus for students. Some events may require additional charges since the budget for student activities does not cover all expenses for the entire activity program.

The student activities fee is published in the college's class schedule.

Technology Fee

A technology fee is assessed for each course credit hour. The technology fee is used to upgrade and maintain computgers and other related equipment on campus.

The technology fee is published in the college's class schedule.

Capital Fee

A per-credit-hour capital fee is assessed to all out-of-state students, including out-of-state contract students.

Eligibility for In-State Tuition

Section 23-7.4 of the Code of Virginia, effective July 1, 1984, requires all persons applying for admission to a public college or university in Virginia and desiring to pay in-state tuition rates to complete an application for Virginia in-state tuition rates. If applicants are under the age of 19 or financially dependent on their parents or legal guardian, the parents or legal guardian must complete and sign a section of the application. An applicant who fails to complete the application for Virginia in-state tuition rates or fails to provide supplemental information when requested to do so will be charged out-of-state tuition rates.

To be eligible for in-state tuition rates, students must establish by clear and convincing evidence that they have been domiciled in Virginia continuously for at least one year immediately preceding the first official day of classes of the semester for which in-state tuition is sought. A copy of the law and WCC’s policy for implementing the appeals process is available in the Admissions and Records Office and in the WCC Library.

Waived Tuition

War Orphans

Under the War Orphans Act of Virginia, children of Virginia military personnel killed, 100 percent disabled, missing in action, or designated prisoners of war in any armed conflict may be eligible for free tuition at state colleges. Determination of eligibility will be made by the Virginia Division of War Veterans' Claims. The free tuition for children is a Commonwealth of Virginia benefit which applies only at state-related institutions. Students qualifying for the War Orphans Act may also be eligible for other benefits from the Veterans Administration through federal authorization. For more information or applications, contact the Student Services Office at Wytheville Community College.

Children of Deceased Law Enforcement/Firefighter/Rescue Squad Personnel

Any student between the ages of 16 and 25 whose parent has been killed in the line of duty while employed or serving as a law enforcement officer, firefighter, or rescue squad member in Virginia is entitled to free tuition and required fees if the deceased parent lived in Virginia at the time of death and certification of employment is provided.

Senior Citizens' Tuition and Fees Waiver

Under provisions of the Virginia Senior Citizens Higher Education Act, a person who has reached 60 years of age and has had legal domicile in Virginia for one year before the beginning of a semester may enroll in a state institution of higher learning at no cost (tuition and required fees) provided all tuition-paying students are given first priority for class spaces. Senior citizens who have completed 75 percent or more of their degree requirements may be allowed to enroll in courses at the same time as tuition-paying students. If the senior citizen had a Virginia taxable income of not more than $10,000 in the preceding year, the individual may take a course for academic credit without paying tuition. If the person’s Virginia taxable income exceeded $10,000, the individual may only audit the course for free. All audits must be approved by the appropriate academic dean. A senior citizen, regardless of income level, may take a noncredit course. No limit is placed on the number of semesters in which a senior citizen may register for tuition-free courses. The law places no restriction on the number of courses that may be taken for credit in any semester. Audit of credit courses or noncredit courses cannot exceed three courses per semester.

To apply for waiver of tuition and fees, senior citizens must be admitted to the college and complete waiver forms each semester in which classes are taken. Waivers must be approved by the Registrar. Forms are available in the Admissions and Records Office.

Side Panel